Skip to content

How Fancy Nancy Got My Daughter to Eat Hard Boiled Eggs

July 6, 2012

By Karen Ruben

Is it possible to cure picky eating with a book? Probably not, but I know for a fact that if I had suggested hard boiled eggs for lunch out of the blue to my two slightly picky eaters they would have laughed in my face. Then one day we read a book about Fancy Nancy, who took a field trip to a museum with her class.

On the way they stopped for lunch and Nancy ate not one but TWO hard boiled eggs! Thank you, Fancy Nancy! Now my girls think that hard boiled eggs are a glamorous thing to eat, and I have one more food in my bag of meal tricks.

No matter that Fancy Nancy later became carsick on the bus ride and threw up her lunch all over her special fancy museum outfit. Luckily, my picky eaters didn’t pick up on that.

This is, of course, just a tiny example of how books can ease kids into a new concept or experience by reading about it first.

When CLiF works so hard to get new books into the hands of children, we are hoping those books will have the same effect they have had on my kids.

We don’t expect all kids to eat hard boiled eggs – or make other big changes – but we do hope that books will introduce them to new ideas, spark their interest and get them thinking.

But if they all eat a hard boiled egg or two, that wouldn’t be so bad either!

If you have a special book or genre that has made a difference to a child you know, we would love to hear about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

